liime_arix (liime_arix) wrote in aramatheydidnt,

AKB48 reveals the covers of 'Give Me Five' and 18-member band unit Baby Blossom

AKB48′s next single, entitled “Give Me Five!”, will see members playing their own instruments – for the first time – in an 18-member big band unit Baby Blossom, the eminent Japanese idol group announced yesterday evening at the end of their Request Hour Set List Best 100 concert, streamed live on YouTube. The song was performed for the encore.

The 18-piece band consists of six core members – Atsuko Maeda (rhythm guitar), Minami Takahashi (lead guitar), Yuko Oshima (bass guitar), Yuki Kashiwagi (drums), Haruna Kojima and Mayu Watanabe (both on keyboards) – as well as an ensemble cast of 12 others sorted into horns, percussions, and chorus squads (see the full list below).

A secret project, members selected for Baby Blossom were first told about being part of the big band unit right after they wrapped up a live concert on August 28 last year.

With just five short months to prepare for the official unveiling last evening, the members have had to take much time off their respective schedules to coordinate practice sessions and train hard. Especially since only three members – Oshima, Rino Sashihara, and Rena Matsui - have had any prior experience with playing musical instruments.

“When everybody gives it everything they’ve got, there’s nothing you can’t achieve. That’s what I believe,” the group’s overall captain Minami Takahashi said on-stage after the performance last night.

“To be honest, I made a few slight mistakes [during my guitar solo]. But in the end, the expression of pride and satisfaction I wore on my face was genuinely heartfelt … I’m still trembling from the performance.”

Takahashi was not the only one reeling from the performance’s after-effects.

“Yukirin (Kashiwagi) beat the drums so hard that she’s got abdominal pains!” Oshima revealed.

“I’ve never experienced anything like this before,” Kashiwagi added.

Give Me Five (Baby Blossom) (18)
Rythym Guitar: Maeda Atsuko
Lead Guitar: Takahashi Minami
Bass: Oshima Yuko
Drums: Kashiwagi Yuki
Keyboard: Kojima Haruna, Watanabe Mayu
Trombone: Sashihara Rino, Minegishi Minami
Trumpet: Yokoyama Yui, Matsui Rena
Tambourine: Shinoda Mariko
Shaker: Itano Tomomi
Percussion: Matsui Jurina
Chorus: Takajo Aki, Miyazawa Sae, Kasai Tomomi, Kitahara Rie, Yamamoto Sayaka

Limited Type A

Limited Type B

Regular Type A

Regular Type B

source, source 2
Tags: akb48, super kawaii
  • Post a new comment


    Comments allowed for members only

    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded 

← Ctrl ← Alt
Ctrl → Alt →
← Ctrl ← Alt
Ctrl → Alt →